Favorite Things.

Let’s just say I currently have many favorite things, but I will go ahead and do my best to pick my top three! These will make you life a little bit brighter! I promise.

speakstruth

First up…daily God time. I absolutely am so thankful to the girl at church who recommended this site to all the ladies in the class. It is a blog called She Speaks Truth and I cannot tell you how great it’s been. It provides you with a quick but good read in the morning and gives me some things to think on throughout that day. It is the best way to start my day and I am so encouraged by these girls who started this blog. You really need to check it out.

hair

//yay for awkward bathroom selfies//

The second thing I am loving is good hair. Who doesn’t want it?! I was so close (SO CLOSE) to choppin it. I have pretty much styled my hair the same way since the beginning of time. And you think I am kidding but I’m not :) My routine consists of taking a shower, brushing my hair and air drying it, and while that worked for many, many years I was starting to get the itch for something new. I am sure you have all been through this. You curl your hair and bleh. You straighten your hair and meh. You just get bored with it and can’t seem to find something that works (I sound like an infomercial). However, I FINALLY, after years of searching, found a tutorial that I love! It is by Maskcara, and while I don’t use the product in my hair like she does, I love the way she curls it. You just have to watch and see for yourself. It allows me to curl my hair without feeling too “done up”, which is big for me. This picture does not do it justice…but that’s what you get when you have two seconds to snap it.

knit101_series

//picture from bleubird blog//

The third thing I am so very excited about is a knitting series one of my favorite blogs, bleubird, is doing! They are teaming up with the very talented Rebekka Seale from Camellia Fiber Company and putting together tutorials for beginners! It is a fantastic idea and I really can’t wait to get started. I have been wanting to learn to knit for the longest time so this is like a mini dream come true.

So many good things! I really hope you get a chance to take a look at all three! Have a wonderful Sunday –Ashley

6 thoughts on “Favorite Things.

  1. I watched the video you posted by Mackara and I must say that I loved it! I often have the same complex with my hair and I get REALLY antsy about it, but this seems like a great way to kind of spruce it up. I’ve been looking for a good relaxed curl tutorial so I will be trying! Thanks for sharing!

    1. Haha….I can totally relate to you on the feeling antsy part. Hopefully this gives you the little change up that you are looking for! Have fun and let me know how it goes :)

  2. thanks for the head’s up on She Reads Truth — i’m certainly going to check this out more. so inspiring, and makes me want to start something like that!

    1. I know! I thought the same thing when I first started reading it! I have benefitted from it so much already and it has only been a week :) I plan on keeping it up. Glad you are going to check it out!!

  3. I’ve had the same hairstyle for about the past 15 years. Same straighten meh curl meh routine over and over again, and I always swear that one of these days I’m going to chop it off and do something drastic, but then I remember that’s exactly what I did 15 years ago and I missed my long hair TERRIBLY. I’m sticking with what I know ;). Thanks for sharing the hair tutorial from Maskcara!

    1. Haha! That is exactly what I am afraid of! I figure finding a way to curl it is a much safer option and also one that I know I won’t regret! I hope you enjoy the tutorial! It is by far my favorite one that I have found :)

Leave a Reply

