Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Pecan Cookies

oatcookies

Hello friends! Take a look at these beauties! These are what days off are made of. One of the best things I can think to do on a day off from work is to sit on my booty all day get in the kitchen and bake like a mad woman. Sweets are by far the most fun to make because you can lick the bowl. Don’t you agree?

I really didn’t feel like venturing out on this particular day, so I googled a couple ingredients that were just hanging out in my pantry to see if they could be put to good use. Luckily, good ole’ Google led me to this yummy recipe which I ended up tweaking a little to make these guys. I like to pretend they are healthy because I made them with white/wheat flour, but I think the sugar and chocolate chips cancel that out. OH WELL…they are delicious. I brought them to work the next day in order to prevent me from consuming them all and the plan worked very nicely. They were all eaten up :)

For these cookies you will need:

1 cup of white/whole wheat flour

3/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon of baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of fine sea salt

1 stick of unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 cup of sugar

1/2 cup of light brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract

1 large egg at room temperature

2 cups old fashioned oats

1 cup chopped pecans

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (or more if you want!)

Preheat your oven to 350. Get those cookie sheets ready and spray them down with non-stick spray/parchment paper and set aside.

In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a second larger bowl, beat together the butter and sugars together until fluffy, about 1 minute. Add in the egg and vanilla and beat until smooth. Next, pour in the flour mixture little by little until well mixed. Then, add in those dry ingredients: oats, pecans and most importantly, the chocolate chips! Mix until “just incorporated”. Finally, you will form some yummy cookie dough balls and place on a cookie sheet. Bake for about 13-15 minutes, and allow to cool afterwards. Waft in the smell of freshly baked cookies, then dig in!

oatcookies2

— Ashley

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Pecan Cookies

  1. Hi, Ashley! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I thought I would check out yours. Your cookies look delicious! I also noticed that you live in Memphis. Do you still? My husband and I moved here about 17 months ago. I still feel so “new”. lol

    1. Thanks Tiffany! And yes, we still do :) In fact, we will probably be here awhile if I had to guess….moved here for the husband’s job :) That is neat that you live so close by! It takes awhile to get settled, but are you liking it? Glad to know of a fellow blogger in the area :)

Leave a Reply

