Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

M&O 032editnew

To think I was not a “toppings” girl once is absolutely crazy. Like what in the world was going on in my head. I was a just cheese, eat my hot dog plain, no tomatoes, or lettuce or onion or anything kind-of-girl. But thankfully, now that I am officially a grown up (25 is grown up, right?), my taste buds can’t get enough toppings. And that’s a good thing because this sandwich is full of them.

And boy, is it good. I am not kidding. I could see it in the hubs’ eyes. He was impressed. And that made me a happy camper :)

Like always, my recipe is a little “loose”. Feel free to adjust the toppings to your liking. Adding more here. Subtracting a little there. It will be great!

This recipe serves 4. You will need:

8 slices of bakery bread

2 cooked chicken breasts. Butterflied (or sliced in half long ways)

1/2 small red onion. sliced thin.

12 cucumber slices. sliced thin.

8 slices of feta cheese

8 sundried tomatoes. chopped

handful of spinach for each sandwich

olive oil

oregano

If your chicken breasts aren’t already cooked, you will need to do that first. Preheat your oven to 400. Place chicken on a tinfoil lined pan. Drizzle both sides with olive oil and salt and pepper, and let bake for 30 minutes.

M&O 007editWhile chicken is baking you can start choppin your ingredients

M&O 039editYou will need to cut 8 slices of fresh bread. On four of those slices (the ones that will be placed in the oven) you will stack the sundried tomatoes, onions and feta like so…

M&O 011editAfter doing this, you will place all 4 slices on a lined cookie sheet. When the oven has about 5-7 minutes left, stick them in to finish cooking with the chicken.

You should have 4 more slices begging for some toppings. So we are going to give them what they want and stack the spinach, cucumbers and the hot chicken, when its done.

M&O 037edit Put the sandwich together when the tops make their way out of the oven. Drizzle some olive oil on the each. And then sprinkle with a good dose of oregano.

M&O 035edit

Oh. my. goodness. It is so delicious. Cook up some fresh veggies for a side and you’ve got yourself a good lookin (and healthy!) meal!

Hope you enjoy!–Ashley

12 thoughts on “Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

  1. What an absolutely beautiful sandwich. I would totally say “yes please” to this. Eh..who am I kidding? If this sandwich was presented be fore me, I’d forget the formality and it would be more like “yes! Give me that sandwich now!” Yum. :-)

  2. This made my mouth seriously water! I was going to wait until Monday to go grocery shopping, but I may have to bump that up to today ’cause I’d like to make this ASAP!

  3. Yummy! This reminds me of the exact sandwich I ate as my first quick meal in England. I’m going to have to make it sometime this week! Thanks for sharing!

    1. Yay!! Hopefully it will bring back some good England memories for you! Let me know what you think :) So glad you stopped by! Have a great day!

    1. Ha! That’s ok! Some things are better simple. I still gag at the sight of a tomato on my plate. Ick.
      Thanks for the nice comment, girl!

Leave a Reply

