The Go-To Meal//Southwestern Sweet Potatoes and Eggs

swpotegg5

We all have it.
That meal we can always count on. That meal where all the ingredients are waiting for us when we don’t feel like putting on real clothes to go grocery shopping. And in this case, that meal that is welcomed for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Yes, a triple whammy meal.

And boy am I thankful for it. It has saved me more than once, and thankfully neither I nor Nathan ever gets sick of it. I am crossing my fingers that that never changes, because I honestly don’t know if I could find a better one.

It’s beyond simple, full of nutrients and quite filling.

swpotegg1swpotegg2swpotegg3swpotegg4

Southwestern Sweet Potato and Eggs//Serves 2

4 eggs

2 sweet potatoes//rinsed//skin on

1 Tbsp olive oil

1/2 avocado

4 Tbsp. your favorite salsa

chili powder and cumin to taste

………………………………………………………………..

Preheat your oven to 400.

While the oven is preheating, scrub your sweet potatoes, then slice, with the skin on. Spread on a cookie sheet lined with tinfoil.

Place in the oven and bake for 20 minutes or until soft. (I like mine with a little crisp, too)

While the sweet potatoes are cooking, heat 1 Tbsp. of olive oil over medium heat. Then add the 4 eggs and fry your eggs.

Cut and dice 1/2 avocado

When everything is done cooking, grab a bowl and layer on the goodness: sweet potatoes, eggs, salsa, avocado…and sprinkle with chili powder and cumin for a little extra flavor.

It is definitely a favorite around here! Do you have any good go-to recipes? It never hurts to have a back-up :) –Ashley

6 thoughts on “The Go-To Meal//Southwestern Sweet Potatoes and Eggs

  1. I always make keep my sweet potatoes sweet…but this looks amazing. I love eggs, avocado, and sweet potatoes so this might be just the recipe to get my to try savory sweet potatoes! It looks sooo filling too

    1. I think you would like it! I tend to lean to the more savory side with sweet potatoes…but recently saw these dessert sweet potato nachos type thing with chocolate all over it, and might be hopping to the sweet side soon.
      And yes, it is very filling. However, I usually will gladly throw a third egg on top…(I sometimes have a hard time telling myself to stop eating :) ) Let me know if you try it out!

  2. This looks sooo good! We are moving down south and the sweet potatoes reminds me that we will be eating well down there. :) As always, thanks for sharing! Love your blog so much!

    1. Thanks Kloe! And you are moving to the South?! Where to?? You are going to love it! And yes….sweet potatoes galore :)

  3. i love a good and easy go-to meal. huge sweet potato fan over here so this recipe might be on my regular rotation! i’m more used to scrambling my eggs so i think i might try that variation. thanks for posting!

    1. Yes! Good go-to meals are super important! And I am glad I have found another sweet potato lover. You can do so much with those little guys. You will have to tell me if you try it, and what you think!

Leave a Reply

