Raw Chocolate Berry Treat

rawstrawchocedit

Nate and I have made it! We conquered the 16 hour travel day (yeesh), and have made it home to Memphis. Jet lag is currently reigning on my parade, as was expected, so I am going to keep this post short and sweet.

So, let’s talk about the sweet. I am not sure whether this yummy treat would be considered a pie, a cookie, a cookie bar, a pie bar, a treat bar? I really don’t know. But what I do know is that it is healthy and can kick your sweet tooth goodbye. And those are two very good things.

I found this recipe on an awesome blog, the Wellness Mama, and was excited to try it.  Sadly, I didn’t get around to making the whipped cream that was also listed with the recipe, but think that you should definitely do it! I am sure it would be delicious.

This treat was super easy and required very little.

All you need is:

  • 1 cup raw almond meal
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil or butter (melted)
  • 4 TBSP unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp raw honey, or to taste
  • Berries of your choice

…………………………………………………………………..

Mix together the almond meal, coconut oil or butter, cocoa powder and honey in a bowl. It should result in a somewhat crumbly consistency. You can always add more melted butter/coconut oil if needed. Then, press the mixture in an 8×8 pan.

Allow to cool in the fridge for at least 30 minutes, then top with a big helping of your favorite berries. Drizzle a little extra honey on top if you’d like.
A perfect afternoon pick-me-up!

Hope you enjoy! And I really hope all of my sentences made sense, because I am too tired to proofread. Have a wonderful day! –Ashley

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

