A Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie

DSC04431

This week we’ve had a few fun things happening. One, our nephew will be coming soon!! yay!! Two, a good friend came in yesterday to stay with us from out of town, and three, we are pretty much done with painting the kitchen cabinets! (holla!) No more plastic wrap, a fridge in the middle of our kitchen, or painting awkward cabinet corners. We are ELATED. 

With so much goodness, I thought chocolate chip cookies were in order. And lucky me, I stumbled across the greatest recipe. I am convinced that these are the best chocolate chip cookies ever. Bakery worthy, even.  Big, soft, chewy, chocalatey, with a slight crisp on the outside. Everything a cookie was made to be. And oh my gosh, I ate like 13 of them. Baking went something like make a dough ball, eat a dough ball, make a dough ball, eat that dough ball.

Plus, they were really simple!

DSC04429DSC04421DSC04430DSC04435

From Smitten Kitchen

2 cups white/all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 egg
1 egg yolk
2 cups Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips

dotted-line

Preheat oven to 325.

In a medium size bowl, sift together flour, baking soda and salt.

In a larger bowl, beat melted butter and sugars until well mixed. Add in the vanilla and eggs and continue to beat until it forms a creamy mixture.

Mix in the dry ingredients until well combined. Then, with a wooden spoon, stir in the chocolate chips.

Drop cookie dough on a well-greased cookie sheet, keeping a few inches in between each.

Bake for 12-15 minutes.

Remove from cookie sheet and allow to cool (or break one on “accident” and eat it because you can’t have a broken cookie…)

DSC04436

 

Pour yourself a big glass of milk, and enjoy! So, so good.

–Ashley

8 thoughts on “A Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie

  1. Oh my gosh gimmie those right now they look to-die-for good! I will definitely be making these this weekend because you have sold me on how perfect they are!

    1. haha! I would gladly share them with you! Although this morning, I told my husband not to bring them to his work. I wasn’t finished with them just yet.
      They will make your weekend even more awesome! Hope you try them!

  2. Uh. Yum! My cookies always turn out flat. Or big and puffy like muffin tops. Never the way they’re supposed to! These look so good!!

    1. Haha. no worries. I think we are in the same boat on that one. But thankfully, not this time!I can’t stop eating them.

Leave a Reply

